Look Ma', No Cash!

Life, The Arts, Fashion and Food on a Budget

Empty Bookshelves (A Wolf at the Door: Part III)

After our amazing night meeting Neil Gaiman, it seemed only fitting to take the Wolf to The Last Bookstore. This time, I came prepared with my camera, so this will be a picture heavy post.

We started out on the main floor, where The Wolf went straight to the Philosophy section.

I love Gibby in the background of this shot.

I love Gibby in the background of this shot.

Gibby found himself a book of interest and settled into one of the many very comfortable chairs set up around the store.

Note all the chairs you can see in this one picture alone.

Note all the chairs you can see in this one picture alone.

I took the opportunity to take some pictures of my favorite architectural elements of this place.

Book Sculptures!

Book Sculptures!

Bike tire chandeliers and Grecian columns!

Bike tire chandeliers and Grecian columns!

Tentacles!

Tentacles!

We then headed upstairs to the book labyrinth, where there are many awesome book art structures and little inventions.

I would not mind having flying books in my next home…

I would not mind having flying books in my next home…

Like this Jangleodeon with fantastic “Don’t Touch” sign.

 Nothing like the threat to be singled out to keep the urge to touch at bay.


Nothing like the threat to be singled out to keep the urge to touch at bay.

And the urge is strong…

And the urge is strong…

The Wolf enjoyed some local art

DSCF6713

Then, onto the Labyrinth!

DSCF6720

Which was strangely empty….

Turns out The Last Book store is currently organizing the Labyrinth by subject, a monumental task that I am very excited about. In the meantime, they still have some wonderful Ombre shelves and piles of books to search through.

I couldn't resist…

I couldn’t resist…

 I love this book tunnel

I love this book tunnel

And I love the lights. Who doesn't want a book fort?

And I love the lights. Who doesn’t want a book fort?

And I found a neat Jules Verne looking contraption.

Looks like it will be part of the science fiction section, good call!

Looks like it will be part of the science fiction section, good call!

So many buttons…

So many buttons…

All in all, it was very interesting to see the Labyrinth so empty, I can’t wait to see what it will be like once it’s all organized and overflowing with books once more.

My boys always carry a little Rosencratz and Guildenstern with them...

My boys always carry a little Rosencratz and Guildenstern with them…

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Empty Bookshelves (A Wolf at the Door: Part III)

  1. wolfgangprice on said:

    I loved the Last Bookstore! I can’t wait until I move down–then we can go there again and again! Muahahah!

Leave a Reply

