Look Ma', No Cash!

Life, The Arts, Fashion and Food on a Budget

Treasure Hunting and The Pier (A Wolf At The Door: Part I)

After much plotting and scheming and a very substantial bribe (see Neil Day), Gibby and I were able to talk The Wolf into visiting us in L.A.  Our first day together, the theme was get cool stuff to wear throughout the week.  First we went to Ross. Surprising, I know, but a coworker cued me in to the fact they were selling proper bow ties (read: Not pre-tied).  We found a bowtie that matches Gibby’s currently  turquoise hair and The Wolf’s very first bowtie, a red plaid cotton lovely. Next, we took him to Jet Rag, an awesome two story shop full of vintage goodies.

Bear with me as I try to learn how to use the camera I got from my brother’s lovely fiancé.

Bear with me as I try to learn how to use the camera I got from my brother’s lovely fiancé.

Inside the store is separated into men and women’s clothing, decade, and in some sections, even color. The Wolf headed straight for the western shirts.

I told you they were arranged by color!

I told you they were arranged by color!

Meanwhile, Gibby had an eerie feeling that the hats were getting jealous of his Panama and quietly sneaking up on him.

Don’t look now…

Don’t look now…

We found a great 30’s style coat for Gibby and I was able to get it half off because it needed some repairs on one of the arms and in the back panel.

Next we headed to The Wolf’s favorite store, Necromance to meet up with his sister, Disney Girl, and adorable nephew, Stormageddon.

Need a two headed pig in a jar? How about Victorian Mourning lockets? They’ve got it!

Need a two headed pig in a jar? How about Victorian Mourning lockets? They’ve got it!

Necromance is one of those odd little shops that everyone should visit at least once, should they come to L.A. It has everything from taxidermy bats to secret society robes from the 50’s to black facial tissues for your all Gothic Elegance themed bathroom.  The Wolf was gifted a neat t-shirt from Disney Girl and I gifted him with a pair of sunglass pince-nez as a good luck charm for his novel. Disney Girl picked up a beautiful jeweled beetle pin that I may have to get a twin of next time I’m there.

Then off to the Pier!

Santa Monica Pier has become a favorite destination for Gibby and I. It has a large beach, a wonderful boardwalk filled with fried food, fair rides, and buskers. We started by visiting the first ever Hot Dog On A Stick.

Oh, yeah, the boys have matching hats.

Oh, yeah, the boys have matching hats.

This location intrigued me because it was somehow out of time and space, given it was demolished back in 2011.

Is there such thing as a Ghost Hot Dog Stand?

Is there such thing as a Ghost Hot Dog Stand?

We each got one of the three lemonade flavors they had to offer. Cherry for Gibby and I, Lime for Disney Girl, and Classic for The Wolf. We sat on one of the low walls and enjoyed our hot dogs on sticks.

I am wearing one of my favorite of my Grandma’s dresses and The Wolf is wearing his T-Shirt from Necromance.

I am wearing one of my favorite of my Grandma’s dresses and The Wolf is wearing his T-Shirt from Necromance.

Stormagedon missed out on the dogs, but he did get some quality Uncle Wolf time.

Adorable family is adorable.

Adorable family is adorable.

Then we hit the boardwalk. The day was over cast, which made for some fun “god rays” pictures.

Puuuurdy!

Puuuurdy!

We enjoyed looking over the grey water at the end of the pier, where people were fishing and a busker performed on a keyboard.

My handsome boys!

My handsome boys!

My handsome boys!

I got a smile out of Stormageddon!

I got a smile out of Stormageddon!

Then The Wolf insisted I relinquish my camera so he could take photos of me and Gibby.

Hair flower made by me.

Hair flower made by me.

Hair flower made by me.

Disney Girl and The Wolf got a very generous funnel cake which Gibby and I helped with before they succumbed to sugar rush. The overcast day started to turn to a chilly sunset, so we made our way back down to the beach. A lovely end to a lovely first day with our dear friend…

See you soon

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Treasure Hunting and The Pier (A Wolf At The Door: Part I)

  1. wolfgangprice on said:

    Perfect post! I’m so glad we got so many pictures! (Yes, I’m The Wolf, to those curiously questioning). I’m nabbing that one of me feeding Stormageddon. Too sweet! I can’t wait for you to post about the rest of our many adventures!!!! ❤

  2. Pingback: “You’ve Got A Little Fish” (A Wolf At The Door: Part II) | Look Ma', No Cash!

Leave a Reply

