Look Ma', No Cash!

Life, The Arts, Fashion and Food on a Budget

Full Moon Over Joshua (Red Lipstick & Camping: Part I)

To celebrate That Red Head Girl’s birthday and college graduation (she got a degree in theater, what a gal!) we packed up the Big Blue Box and headed out to Joshua Tree.  I had never gone desert camping before, so it was like entering another planet. Joshua Tree is not only filled with the namesake trees, but also some amazing boulders, perfect for exploring and since Lemon was there, taking equally amazing photos. Gibby and I came prepared with a suitcase full of costumes and one very striking photo of Buster Keaton to recreate.

We found the perfect campsite sitting right up against an expanse of rocks that reached back as far as the eye could see.

Our "backyard"

Our “backyard”

After setting up the tents, I ran around with Lemon and took some pictures while we waited for “golden hour” to take That Red Head Girl’s epic graduation photos. The running gag was that not only did I camp in vintage/vintage style clothes, but I also kept changing my outfit throughout the night.

Outfit 1: Driving to the campsite and setting up the tent.

 I’m wearing a long skirt from my Grandma as a dress and holding our little foster dog, Puppy. It was Puppy’s first camping trip, and she did stunningly well!

I’m wearing a long skirt from my Grandma as a dress and holding our little foster dog, Puppy. It was Puppy’s first camping trip, and she did stunningly well!

Outfit 3 (No I did not skip a number, Lemon has those photos): Waiting for “golden hour”. Photo by Lemon

Dress was my Grandmother's worn with my light petticoat. Cardigan was found at Target and hat was bought at an antique shop forever ago.

Dress was my Grandmother’s worn with my light petticoat. Cardigan was found at Target and hat was bought at an antique shop forever ago.

Finally, ‘golden hour’ arrived and the cousins headed into the rocks for some graduation photos.

Lemon directing the shot…

Lemon directing the shot…

Reviewing the photos...

Reviewing the photos…

The finished shot by Lemon

612d7240c4a711e2a9a222000aa81a0e_7

photolauren.com

How’s THAT for a graduation photo!

Then there’s this one too…

942969_10201288819009539_1896810276_n

photolauren.com

Once the sun had set, Gibby treated us to some very gourmet “hobo packs” with ground turkey meat, bell peppers, mushrooms, Italian spices and balsamic vinaigrette all wrapped up in tin foil and cooked over the campfire. That Red Head Girl grilled corn while they were still in their husks and together it made for a delightful meal. Gibby and I surprised That Red Head Girl with a decadent chocolate birthday cake complete with a sparkler for a candle. By that the time the moon had risen high and so bright that we turned off our flashlights and sat talking around the campfire eating cake, making smores and “perfect” marshmallows.

In the middle of the night, I was wandering back from the bathrooms and saw Lemon’s camera on a tripod pointed at the Big Blue Box, but no Lemon.  Not wanting to accidentally be in her shot, I stood behind the camera. Lemon joined me a second later, the timer went off, and this is what showed up on her view screen…

425322_10201288819329547_908326420_n

photolauren.com

Remember when I said it was the middle of the night? Well, Lemon had her camera on long exposure, which gives this picture that cool daylight but with stars in the background look.  The wiggly lines coming off the Big Blue Box were done when Lemon ran around with a flashlight. Being wrapped up in the “Oh Cool!” factor of this technique, I asked Lemon if I could play. She graciously said, “Sure!”, I grabbed Gibby, and after one last costume change we got this shot…

IMG_0237

photolauren.com

How amazing is this? I love how it looks like it was taken on a studio set, but that’s just our campsite in the background. It was so much fun getting to collaborate with Lemon on this.  I have always been a huge fan of her work (as seen in my post about FotoSensori) and was delighted to finally get to work with her.  The shot was simply put together, with no planning whatsoever and yet to me, it’s a piece of art I am proud to be a part of. I am definitely having it framed once I get a chance.

Satisfied with a very creative day, Gibby and I snuggled up in our tent (seen in the photo above) and went to sleep awaiting another day of adventure…

To Be Continued…

(If you want to see more of the trip through Lemon’s lens, go to her website)

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Full Moon Over Joshua (Red Lipstick & Camping: Part I)

  1. wolfgangprice on said:

    Wonderful post! I love the pictures and am really excited to check out more of them! I really am excited to see the Buster Keaton recreation shot, as well as the shot of you you told me about (spoilers!–thank you River Song). Whoot!

  2. Pingback: Pioneertown and Mr. Keaton (Red Lipstick & Camping: Part II) | Look Ma', No Cash!

  3. Pingback: The Lost Book Store and a Poem for Collecting Memory and Words | Look Ma', No Cash!

  4. Pingback: The Last Book Store and a Poem for Collecting Memory and Words | Look Ma', No Cash!

Leave a Reply

