Look Ma', No Cash!

Life, The Arts, Fashion and Food on a Budget

FotoSensori or “If You Give The Cousins A Photo-booth…”

On Saturday, Gibby and I went to the art show FotoSensori to support Lemon (seriously, my cousin is an uber-talented photographer, take a moment to look at her work) and donate to a good cause.  The art show itself was an interesting and inspiring mix of photographers whose featured works were meant to invoke the senses through their photographs.  Gibby and I wandered through exhibits that featured the sensation of touch in dreams by depicting the common nightmare of losing ones teeth, sound with photos of nature complete with a video feed featuring said sounds, and I personally felt Lemon’s submission featured taste and smell with her use of banana peels as part of her display.

I am wearing a thrifted men’s top and one of my Grandma’s square dance skirts.

I am wearing a thrifted men’s top and one of my Grandma’s square dance skirts.

What I love most about Lemon’s work is her total commitment to being vibrant. Her choices of colors, lighting and framing take you into a world rarely seen in modern photography.  She creates a kind of photo mythology filled with people you want to meet, places you want to go to, events you wish you had been invited to and, especially in my case, clothes you want to wear.  Her photography has earned her a loyal following on Flickr and Instagram and it’s no wonder she was invited to take part in this art show.

Okay, I’ll stop gushing about my cousin now and get distracted as I was that night by this sign:

“Dumplings!!” you say? I think I shall.

“Dumplings!!” you say? I think I shall.

And I did.

And I did.

I had the basil chicken dumpling which were a perfect little gallery browsing snack.

At the front of the event was a photo-booth and the cousins being cousins we made full use of the fun. Enjoy the silliness.

The Shmisters….

Civil War Face

Civil War Face

Wait...

Wait…

I think I see where this is going...

I think I see where this is going…

Pure photo-booth genius!

Pure photo-booth genius!

The Cousins….

Oh Joy!

Oh Joy!

My favorite of the set...

My favorite of the set…

Now that's just silly. And a family tradition.

Now that’s just silly. And a family tradition.

Oh Sad.

Oh Sad.

And The Couple…

Suspicion and attraction?

Suspicion and attraction?

How perfectly Pin-Up is my face here?

How perfectly Pin-Up is my face here?

And how adorable is Gibby?

And how adorable is Gibby?

Putting that hat to good use…

Putting that hat to good use…

And on that note, I bid you goodnight. Thank you for indulging.

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “FotoSensori or “If You Give The Cousins A Photo-booth…”

  1. wolfgangprice on said:

    I LOVE the pictures you all took in the photo booth! You and Gibby are just adorable together–and your Pin Up face is spot on! You go girl! ❤

Leave a Reply

