Look Ma', No Cash!

Life, The Arts, Fashion and Food on a Budget

I don’t know where we are, but let’s go over there!

Yesterday, Gibby and I met up with Miss Snow at the Brewery Art Walk.  It’s a huge artists’ complex that opens up its studios twice a year for the public to walk through. It was a lot of fun to walk through all the different artist lofts set up as galleries or interactive experiences.  Maybe our next L.A. pad will be a loft.  I’d love to have all that space to create in.

The weather was gorgeous and sunny. Our first stop was just outside one of the lofts where there was chalk and a few drawings on the sidewalk. Gibby of course had to leave his traditional Dr. Who inspired scribble.

I’m wearing jeans from Urban Outfitters, hat from our Target shopping trip, vintage 70’s vest from my Aunt and shirt and tie borrowed from Gibby.

I’m wearing jeans from Urban Outfitters, hat from our Target shopping trip, vintage 70’s vest from my Aunt and shirt and tie borrowed from Gibby.

My outfit was a mash up of “If Annie Hall dated Buster Keaton” and I got a lot of complements from various artists, including a lady who was a film costume designer, score!

One of my favorite exhibits was a room with several sticker vending machines each with their own saying such as “There is no funding” which Gibby got or “There is no theory” which Miss Snow picked up.  On the floor were these coins

IMG_20130427_115929_403

It was a lot of fun watching people cue up to the machines.  I wanted “There is no End” but the machine was out, so I grabbed “There is no context” instead.  I also nabbed another one that I will be sending to an actor friend of mine in New York that reads “There is no audience”.

IMG_20130427_115952_168

We also saw a great room that was completely decked out in dystopic bunker fashion. Rivets lined the walls and the upstairs bed nook had a gunner station pointed at the front door, in case of midnight automaton invasions I assume. I want at least one room like that done in bronze. I’m more of a Steampunk girl.

After the bunker we took Miss Snow to get some Italian sausage and sangria.  We agreed the best part of sangria is the boozy fruit at the bottom. After lunch we did more wandering. The mantra of the day was “I have no idea where we are. That looks neat. Let’s go over there” which I believe should be everyone’s matra as often as possible.  We found a vintage clothing and textile sale hosted by the afore mentioned costume designer where I picked up some great millinery odds and ends and a cool looking brooch.

I love the mini pears and am sold on making petite red hair bows to feature the tiny mushrooms!

I love the mini pears and am sold on making petite red hair bows to feature the tiny mushrooms!

We crossed a high scaffolding bridge that connected two of the buildings fulfilling my odd desire to climb and walk across as much scaffolding as possible. I blame my theater building days on this urge, but my mum always has to climb big rocks so I could be mildly genetic as well.

IMG_20130427_141828_975

The view from the scaffolding.

There was a cool little loft with some work in progress abstract art work that I really enjoyed that reminded of the creatures of Mushi-Shi. The artist had a display of fake pig noses set in a circle on the top tier of a dessert tray with fruit on the bottom two tiers. We had a great conversation with the artist about displaying odd items as décor and I got her interested in watching Mushi-Shi and Baron Munchausen which one of her other works reminded me of.

After that, we found our way downstairs and were just about to part ways when I saw some billowing silk curtains and got everyone to follow me through. Inside were some truly fantastic, large, LED Burning Man sculptures.  A seahorse, a two headed dragon and a few jelly fish towered over us.  There was also a neat wrought iron sculpture of a tree with keys instead of leaves that I think will have to make an appearance in a future story or script.  See what happens when you follow the mantra?

We parted ways and I grabbed a free lemon from this stand because well, “Free lemons!”

IMG_20130427_142909_229

I look forward to getting to have more adventures this summer. I hear L.A. does lots of great free shows.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “I don’t know where we are, but let’s go over there!

  1. Brian Ault on said:

    The vending machine room looks like it was taken from one of the clean rooms on Apalapucia. Maybe it was just me.

  2. Sounds like a great day!
    ~ Love you

Leave a Reply

